News

SCAM #1 - I WANT TO BUY YOUR DOMAIN

You get an email from a Max Power (remember Homer Simpson who took on the name Max Power) telling you he wants to buy your domain for $4K! Funny thing is that he doesn't actually say what the domain name is he wants to buy from you. You may have more than one domain and if you are like me, I have nearly 20 domains.

See copy and paste of email below.

------------------------------------------------------------

ATTN: Web Domain Question
Max Power [buyer@clientmaxsolutions.com ]
Recevied: 27th December, 2009 at 9.46pm

Sir or Madam,

I am currently interested in purchasing your domain(if it is for sale). Your information was provided to me by the domain who-is system. I am going to launch a new business online and your domain fits the name of my business. I was wondering if you were interested in selling your domain, currently with my budget I would like to offer you $4k for your domain name.

I would like to use an Escrow Service(www.escrow.com) for payment and an Identity Verification Service(www.freeverifyme.com) for both of our protection. Please start off with the identity verification process,its free and rather painless and after I receive the email that you have been verified, I will contact you by either phone or email with the details of the Escrowed money and we can begin the transfer. Thank you for your time and it is great to do business with you.

Sincerely,
Max Power

------------------------------------------------------------

How do I know this is a scam?

Well I decided to check out clientmaxsolutions.com - well wouldn't you know it! There is no website, but just a couple of folders on his server.

Secondly, I know www.escrow.com is a legitimate website, but the www.freeverifyme.com was only set up on Dec 25th 2009! A HUGE give away when you realise that this site is probably being used to take your information for probable identity theft.

These are the details on the domain name:

Registrant:
    Domains by Proxy, Inc.
    DomainsByProxy.com
    15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
    United States

    Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
    Domain Name: FREEVERIFYME.COM
       Created on: 25-Dec-09
       Expires on: 25-Dec-10
       Last Updated on: 25-Dec-09

    Administrative Contact:
       Private, Registration  FREEVERIFYME.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
       Domains by Proxy, Inc.
       DomainsByProxy.com
       15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
       Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
       United States
       (480) 624-2599      Fax -- (480) 624-2598

    Technical Contact:
       Private, Registration  FREEVERIFYME.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
       Domains by Proxy, Inc.
       DomainsByProxy.com
       15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
       Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
       United States
       (480) 624-2599      Fax -- (480) 624-2598

    Domain servers in listed order:
       NS27.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
       NS28.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

You can always check the whois of any top level domain here if you want to learn more about a domain owner. I also noted he has the VeriSign logo and I bet London to a Brick this guy is NOT verified by them.

If you get an email like this, just DELETE it! The person behind the scam is not interested in a domain, he's only after your personal details!

SCAM #2 - DOMAIN REGISTER OF AMERICA (DROA) SCAM

Domain name owners get a letter in the post telling you your domain is about to expire and to pay immediately either online or send a cheque (to either the US or Canada). The fact is, your domain has never been registered with them, and the odds are if you are a client of PERTHwebs.com, your domain is registed through enom.

Clients pay this account not realising they have been duped! - If you get one of their letters, please throw it in the bin and do nothing! Always double check where your domain is registered BEFORE you part with your money.

Please read the following links

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_Registry_of_America

http://www.gn.apc.org/support/domain-registry-america-scam

http://www.scrappybusiness.com/domain-registry-of-america-scam.htm

http://www.synuk.com/droa/

http://www.ucan.org/blog/blog/scam_alert/domain_registry_of_america_scam

http://blog.forret.com/2004/12/domain-registry-of-america-scam/

 

2009 Christmas / New Year Holiday Closure

 

 

28/01/2009

A limited time special offer has been launched to allow anyone to take their business or personal blogs online. For a fee of $265 a complete website package is offered. - Conditions apply.

Special offer valid until 27/02/2009

Offer details can be found here........

 

22/01/2009

PERTHwebs.com was given a new image with a slicker feel and appeal to the ever changing demands in web design and development.

 

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Home | Services | Web Hosting | Request a Quote | Contact Us |